Will Tennis TV show the ATP Cup?

Tennis TV is excited to announce that we will be streaming the ATP’s newest event – the ATP Cup – kicking off the 2020 season! This major event will be added to the ATP Tour calendar in 2020. 


What is the ATP Cup?
The 2020 ATP Cup is an annual 24-nation team competition, featuring a maximum of 750 singles and 250 doubles ATP Rankings points. The event is being staged in partnership between ATP and Tennis Australia.

When will it be played?
The ATP Cup will begin the ATP Tour each season, the 10-day tournament will start on the Friday before week 1 and finish on the Sunday of week 1. The inaugural event will be held 3rd – 12th January, 2020.

Where will it be played?
The group stages will be hosted across three Australian cities each year with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final played in one of those cities. For the inaugural ATP Cup in January 2020 the group stages will be hosted in Brisbane and the second city is still to be confirmed. The finals will be hosted in Sydney.

How does the tournament work?
The 24 teams are divided into six groups of four for round-robin play. The six winners of each group and the two best runners-up emerge to contest the eight-nation knockout stage (quarter-finals, semi-finals and final).

What is the format?
Each tie comprises two singles and one doubles. The nation winning two points wins the tie. Every team nation will be guaranteed to play three ties in the group stages.

How many players are in a team?
Each team may have up to five players, made up of the nation’s three highest ATP ranked singles players. The remaining two places will be filled by players with the next highest singles or doubles ranking.

Will a Team Captain be assigned?
Each team will have a captain, selected by the No. 1 singles player. The No. 1 singles player will be the captain should one not be selected.

Is on-court coaching allowed?
Yes. The designated coach will have the option to sit on the court throughout matches.

When will the teams be announced? 
The top 18 teams will be announced soon after the First Entry Deadline (September 9th, 2019). The remaining six teams will be announced soon after the Second Entry Deadline (November 18th, 2019).  

Can a player play singles and doubles?
Yes, it is up the to the team captain to decide who plays doubles.

Will there be a Wild Card team?
Yes. There may be a Wild Card for the host nation if it does not qualify by ATP Rankings. This team will be announced at the first deadline if not qualifying in the top 18 teams.

Points and ranking:

What is the maximum number of points a player can earn?
Singles: An undefeated player who plays and wins all possible singles matches could earn 750 ATP points. 

Doubles: An undefeated player who plays and wins all possible doubles matches could earn 250 ATP points.


Will the ATP Cup be geo-blocked in certain countries?

The ATP Cup will be geo-blocked in the following countries; Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, and Vietnam.

For more information on geo-blocking, please refer to our help page here.


For more information please visit the ATP Cup website

*Please note that the above information is subject to change by the ATP rules and regulations.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No